Project Lose Weight, Not Sanity

I’m not going to lie. I have never liked the idea of a “diet”…maybe because I was just active enough to keep up with all the junk food I was consuming when I was in high school. Then I started college and found the golden cafeteria that served dessert at every meal. I could not resist that siren call. My activity had been as a flag girl in marching band …ok stop laughing. It was hard work! We ran all over that field and rehearsed every day and I was skinny and even had some muscles…really! But as they always say, you can’t march forever. (I know you’re tired of hearing that nugget of wisdom) Anywho…where was I? Oh, that’s right, I’ve gained a lot of weight over the past 20 years. I’m 5’1” so it doesn’t take much to start showing. I still don’t like the idea of a diet, but I am totally on board for a revolution in how I eat. I don’t want just a list of foods I have to deny myself, I want to learn how to prepare foods in a healthy way. Many of you know we have one son with autism and possibly looking at finding out if our other son has ADHD. My oldest daughter has had many digestive problems in her life. And honestly, I just feel horrible. Rheumatoid arthritis runs in my family and I wake up every morning achy and have an ankle that hasn’t stopped hurting in months. Ok, my sob story’s over 🙂
This summer I started reading a blog that I just love! Weed ‘Em and Reap is the blog of DaNelle Wolford. She relates her story of weight loss by switching to a real, whole foods diet on her blog and now in her new book Have Your Cake & Lose Weight Too!

9727814260_d05edf44cd_n   9724824905_7302d85840_n

9724825399_a365cf48fc_n   9727814262_922b5658ee_n

She is witty and funny and also knowledgeable about achieving health goals using real food. This is where I want to end up in my food journey. I just want to eat all the foods God gave us prepared in the healthiest way. In her book she explains how in modern times we have messed up real food and how foods were traditionally prepared. Then she takes on 9 modern weight loss myths, dives into the question of vegan-ism, vegetarianism, and plant based diets, and then focuses on true principles of REAL FOOD weight loss. I love that her last chapter is so practical on how to get started with real food, as well as RECIPES!  I know making a switch is a daunting thought for me, and I’m learning so much about it. In all, this book is so down to earth, yet so full of info that I think everyone would benefit from reading it.   If it weren’t for some of the problems our family has I would start right here with this book. As it is I believe we have some intense healing to do first with Seth’s autism. We will be following the GAPS diet, which is a diet that heals your gut which leads to better health. (you just got a spoiler on my next blog post!) Many of the principals are the same though, so after we heal through GAPS, we will transition more foods into our diet following DaNelle’s lead.  I encourage you to follow her on Facebook and her blog, and get her new book! I loved reading it and would love to hear what you think! Extra special bonus: through November 15th, 2013  Have Your Cake & Lose Weight Too! is on sale for 58% OFF! ($14.95) If you click the link below, you can buy it and download today!

****UPDATE****

9724787445_f1f1d85068   10610025364_dec3dd21f5

My next blog post is dedicated to explaining the ebook bundle, so check that out as well if you have questions. Can you believe this deal?? I can’t wait to read them all!

DISCLOSURE: In order for me to support my blogging activities, I occasionally may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. However, I only recommend products or services I have personally used myself and trust.

//

Leave a Reply

